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NOTICE OF STATE AGENCY RULEMAKING 
 
PUBLIC INPUT FOR RULES A list of state agency rule proposals is published here each 
Wednesday. You can get a copy of a proposed rule by contacting the person listed in the 
notice. You can comment on a proposed rule by submitting a written comment to the agency or 
by attending the public hearing, if one is scheduled. If no hearing is scheduled, you can request 
one.  The agency must hold a hearing if it receives 5 or more requests.  If you have a disability 
and need assistance to participate in a hearing you should tell the agency at least 7 days before 
the hearing. ONLINE INFORMATION Weekly notices, full text of adopted rules, and a list of 
agency rulemaking contacts are available at this website: 
https://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/index.html  
 

PROPOSALS 

 
AGENCY:  16-227  Department of Public Safety, Maine Criminal Justice Academy Board 
of Trustees 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE:  Chapter 3, Entrance Standards 
TYPE OF RULE: Routine Technical  
PROPOSAL TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-P014 
BRIEF SUMMARY:  These proposed amendments to Chapter 3 will update the Maine 
Criminal Justice Academy entrance standards for the Basic Corrections Training Course 
(including both the Basic Corrections Training Program and Juvenile Basic Corrections 
Training Program), Law Enforcement Preservice Training Program, and Basic Law 
Enforcement Training Program by adding as an alternative to the educational requirement 
a passing score on the High School Equivalency Test (HISET), which is the test that Maine 
and other states now use in lieu of the General Education Development Test.  Additionally, 
the proposed amendments establish the same entrance criteria for both the Law 
Enforcement Preservice course and Basic Law Enforcement Training Program by adding 
the entrance requirement of a successful polygraph examination and psychological 
evaluation for Law Enforcement Preservice Course candidates, effective July 1, 2026.  
Amendments reorganize section 2 (Law Enforcement Preservice Training Program) to be 
consistent with the ordering of section 3 (Basic Law Enforcement Training Program).  
Amendments also include updating disqualifying conduct for applicants enumerated in 25 
M.R.S. 2806-A(5) including offenses in 17 M.R.S. chapters 29, 31, 35, and 41, which were 
previously omitted from the rule.  Amendments also eliminate the requirement of the use 
of a reading and writing test for entrance to the Law Enforcement Preservice Course and 
Basic Law Enforcement Training Program. Instead, they  require that the candidate be able 
to read and write at a level necessary to complete the course as determined by the hiring or 
sponsoring agency.   
DETAILED SUMMARY: 
 

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.maine.gov%2Fsos%2Fcec%2Frules%2Findex.html&data=05%7C02%7CJ.Chris.Parr%40maine.gov%7C645b27059f0346864d7008dc94834bf0%7C413fa8ab207d4b629bcdea1a8f2f864e%7C0%7C0%7C638548538834447354%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=K93i9Iukz%2F4M1hnG1XnmVSNiEpRD2zB99vb6RheIZ8A%3D&reserved=0
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This proposed rule amends Chapter 3: Entrance Standards for the Department of Public 
Safety, Maine Criminal Justice Academy Board of Trustees.   
 
The proposed rule: 
 

1. Clarifies that section 1 applies to both the Basic Corrections Training Program 
(BCTP) and the Juvenile Basic Corrections Training Program (JBCTP) to reflect 
changes enacted by P.L. 2023, c. 341. 
 

2. Adds the High School Equivalency Test (HISET) passing score as an optional 
educational requirement for entrance to the BCTP and JBCTP (1.A), the Law 
Enforcement Preservice Course (LEPS) (2.A), and the Basic Law Enforcement 
Training Program (BLETP) (3.A). 

 
3. Adds disqualifying conduct for applicants enumerated in 25 M.R.S. 2806-A(5) to 

include offenses in 17 M.R.S. chapters 29, 31, 35, and 41, which were previously 
omitted from the rule for the BCTP and JBCTP (1.E and 1.F), the LEPS course (2.E 
and 2.F), and the BLETP course (3.E and 3.F). 

 
4. Eliminates the requirement to use a reading and writing test for entrance to the Law 

Enforcement Preservice Course (2.I) and Basic Law Enforcement Training Program 
(3.I). Instead, the rule establishes a requirement that the candidate be able to read 
and write at a level necessary to complete the course as determined by the hiring or 
sponsoring agency.   
 

5. Reorganizes section 2 (Law Enforcement Preservice Training Program) to be 
consistent with the ordering of section 3 (Basic Law Enforcement Training Program). 
 

A copy of the proposed rule is available at the following weblink under Proposed Rules:  
https://www.maine.gov/dps/dps/mcja/about/board/rulemaking or by requesting a 
copy by contacting Assistant Director Lincoln Ryder by email at lincoln.e.ryder@maine.gov 
or by U.S. Mail at Maine Criminal Justice Academy, 15 Oak Grove Rd, Vassalboro, ME  
04989. 

PUBLIC HEARING (if any):  Friday, March 14, 2025, at 9:00 am at the Maine Criminal 
Justice Academy, 15 Oak Grove Road, Room B120 Brian MacMaster Board Room, 
Vassalboro, ME  04989 
COMMENT DEADLINE:  Monday, March 24, 2025 
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING: Assistant Director Lincoln Ryder, Maine Criminal 
Justice Academy, 15 Oak Grove Road, Vassalboro, ME  04989   Office phone:  207-877-8008, 
Fax:  207-877-8027     email:  lincoln.e.ryder@maine.gov  
CONTACT PERSON FOR SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT (if different):  N/A 
FINANCIAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES (if any): The rule 
will require  candidates seeking to become part-time law enforcement officers to 

https://www.maine.gov/dps/dps/mcja/about/board/rulemaking
mailto:lincoln.e.ryder@maine.gov
mailto:lincoln.e.ryder@maine.gov
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undergo a polygraph examination and a psychological evaluation prior to attending 
their training.  To the extent that a municipality or county elects to pay for the 
examinations of the part-time officers it intends to hire, the municipality or county 
will incur additional expenses. The total cost for both of these examinations would be 
approximately $1000 per officer.   
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE:  25 M.R.S. §§2803-A(2) & (18), 2806-A(5) 
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different): N/A 
AGENCY WEBSITE: www.maine.gov/dps/mcja 
EMAIL FOR OVERALL AGENCY RULEMAKING LIAISON:  lincoln.e.ryder@maine.gov 
 

 
AGENCY: 10-144 Department of Health and Human Services, Maine Center for Disease 
Control and Prevention 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 208, Rules Relating to Boys, Girls, Boys and Girls, 
Day Camps and Primitive and Trip Camping. 
TYPE OF RULE: Routine Technical  
PROPOSAL TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-P015  
BRIEF SUMMARY: The Maine CDC Health Inspection Program is proposing to update and 
clarify safety and wellness standards for its Rules Relating to Boys, Girls, Boys and Girls, Day 
Camps and Primitive and Trip Camping (10-144 CMR Ch. 208), which was last updated in 
2007. The Department is proposing to change the rule title, add and clarify definitions, 
incorporate application, licensing and enforcement provisions and requirements from its 
Administration and Enforcement of Establishments Regulated by the Health Inspection 
Program Rule (Ch. 201), as well as clarify safety standards for swimming, adventure challenge 
activities, trip camping, farm animals, subsurface wastewater disposal systems, fire safety, 
drinking water, certified food protection managers, water temperature for hand washing, 
health supervisors, standing orders, medication protocols, notifiable conditions and diseases, 
ensuring proper background checks, hiring and training of staff, supervision ratios for 
campers, and transportation protocols. In addition, the Department is proposing to clarify the 
prohibition against abuse, neglect, hazing and bullying, which includes but is not limited to 
requiring camps to establish and maintain policies that prevent child abuse and neglect, as well 
as train staff on how to respond to and report allegations or observations of abuse, neglect, 
hazing or bullying.  
PUBLIC HEARING: Monday, March 10, 2025. 109 Capitol Street, Augusta Maine, Conference 
Rooms A & B. 
COMMENT DEADLINE: Thursday, March 20, 2025. 
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING: Andrew Hardy, 11 SHS-286 Water Street, Augusta, 
ME 04333-0011,(207) 287-4490;andrew.hardy@maine.gov 
CONTACT PERSON FOR SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT (if different): N/A 
FINANCIAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES (if any): None. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 22 MRS §§ 2491 to 2501 
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different): N/A 
AGENCY WEBSITE: https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/ 
E-MAIL FOR OVERALL AGENCY RULE-MAKING LIAISON: 
emily.cathcart@maine.gov   
 

 

http://www.maine.gov/dps/mcja
mailto:lincoln.e.ryder@maine.gov
mailto:andrew.hardy@maine.gov
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/about/rulemaking
mailto:emily.cathcart@maine.gov
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AGENCY: 10-144 Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), Office of MaineCare 
Services, Division of Policy 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 101, MaineCare Benefits Manual (Ch. III, Section 67, 
Principles of Reimbursement for Nursing Facilities) 
TYPE OF RULE: Routine Technical  
PROPOSAL TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-P016 
BRIEF SUMMARY: The Department of Health and Human Services proposes these rule 
changes in 10-144 C.M.R. Ch. 101, MaineCare Benefits Manual, Chapter III, Section 67, 
Principles of Reimbursement for Nursing Facilities. On February 1, 2025, the Department 
enacted changes to this policy through emergency rulemaking pursuant to Title 5, M.R.S. 
§8054. 
 
The Department’s principal purpose of this rulemaking is to make permanent the 
establishment of a new reimbursement methodology for Nursing Facilities.  
 
These changes include moving toward creating a prospective payment system that 
incorporates acuity measures that capture the range of need associated with caring for all 
residents, decreases administrative burden, and ensures rates keep pace with changes in the 
cost of delivering services.   Regional variations for labor costs, as required by 22 M.R.S. Sec. 
1708(3)(E), have been revised so that the four regions all have a factor of 1.0 for the four 
regions, to reflect the fact that analysis does not show any regional variation in labor costs. 
Occupancy adjustments have also been removed, at the request of providers in the Rate 
Reform process and to the benefit of providers 
 
In compliance with 22 M.R.S. Sec. 3173-J(2), the Department conducted a rate determination 
process: a Rate Determination Initiation Notice was issued on January 12, 2023. MaineCare 
presented the draft reimbursement methodology and definitions to providers and interested 
stakeholders on March 13, 2023; April 12, 2023; May 17, 2023, June 5, 2023; June 26, 2023; March 
7, 2024; March 8, 2024, and October 23, 2024. The Department accepted public comments 
through October 30, 2024, and responded in writing to comments with an explanation of 
whether and how feedback was incorporated into the final reimbursement methodology and 
rates. 
 
The Department shall submit to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, and anticipates 
approval, for State Plan Amendments related to these provisions.   
 
PUBLIC HEARING: Monday, March 10, 2025, 1:00 PM EST at 109 Capitol Street, Augusta, 
Maine 04333.  
The Department has determined that its public hearing will be hybrid, conducted both in-person 
and remotely, via Zoom. 
Zoom meeting link: https://mainestate.zoom.us/j/81377592832 
Meeting ID: 813 7759 2832 
One Tap Mobile: 1-309-205-3325 

https://mainestate.zoom.us/j/81377592832
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Find your local number: https://mainestate.zoom.us/u/kZXrAjXmH  
Some devices may require downloading a free app from Zoom prior to joining the public hearing event. 
The Department requests that any individual requiring special arrangements to participate in the hearing 
contact the person listed for this filing 5 days in advance of the hearing.  
In addition to the public hearing, individuals may submit written comments to DHHS by the 
date listed in this notice. 
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: Comments must be received by 11:59 PM on Thursday, March 
27, 2025. 
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Derrick Grant, Policy Manager 
AGENCY NAME: Office of MaineCare Services 
ADDRESS: 109 Capitol Street, 11 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0011 
TELEPHONE: 207-624-6931 FAX: (207) 287-6106; TTY: 711 (Deaf or Hard of Hearing) 
IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES (if any): The Department anticipates that 
this rulemaking will not have any impact on municipalities or counties.  
CONTACT PERSON FOR SMALL BUSINESS INFORMATION (if different): N/A 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 22 M.R.S. § 42, 3173-J; P.L. 2023, CH. 643; 22 
M.R.S § 1708; 22 M.R.S. § 7402 
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different): 

E-MAIL FOR OVERALL AGENCY RULE-MAKING LIAISON: emily.a.cathcart@maine.gov  

 
 
AGENCY: 13-188-Department of Marine Resources  
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 8, Landings Program 
TYPE OF RULE: Routine Technical  
PROPOSAL TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-P017 
BRIEF SUMMARY: This proposed rulemaking exempts federal permit holders authorized 
to take Atlantic halibut from state reporting. The proposed rulemaking also clarifies that 
license holders for Atlantic menhaden and Atlantic herring are required to report 
electronically, for consistency with existing requirements in Chapters 41 and 36.    
PUBLIC HEARING (if any): None 
COMMENT DEADLINE:  March 21, 2025 
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING: 
NAME: Deirdre Gilbert 
MAILING ADDRESS: 21 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0021 
E-MAIL: dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov  
TELEPHONE: 207-624-6553 
FAX: 207-624-6024 
TTY: 207-624-6500 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing) 
Hearing facilities: If you require accommodation due to disability, please contact Meredith 
Mendelson at 207-624-6553.  
CONTACT PERSON FOR SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT (if different): Same  
FINANCIAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES (if any): None 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 12 MRS 6173 

https://mainestate.zoom.us/u/kZXrAjXmH
mailto:emily.a.cathcart@maine.gov
mailto:dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov
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SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different): Same 
AGENCY WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dmr/rulemaking/  
E-MAIL FOR OVERALL AGENCY RULE-MAKING LIAISON: 
dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov   

 
 
AGENCY: 13-188-Department of Marine Resources  

CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 36, Atlantic Herring 

TYPE OF RULE: Routine Technical  

PROPOSAL TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-P018 

BRIEF SUMMARY: This proposed rulemaking places a cap on the total harvest of Atlantic 
herring in state waters of 200,000 pounds for the management period of June 1 through 
December 31.   
PUBLIC HEARING (if any): March 11, 2025: 4:00 p.m. at DMR’s Augusta office (Marquardt 
Building, 32 Blossom Lane, rm 118) and remotely via Microsoft Teams. If the March 11th 
hearing is cancelled due to inclement weather an alternate hearing will be held on March 12th 
at 4:00 pm in Room 118 of the same location, and remotely via Microsoft Teams. Remote access 
information is posted to DMR’s website under “Meetings.”  
COMMENT DEADLINE: March 22, 2025 

CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING: 

NAME: Deirdre Gilbert 

MAILING ADDRESS: 21 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0021 

E-MAIL: dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov  

TELEPHONE: 207-624-6553 

FAX: 207-624-6024 

TTY: 207-624-6500 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing) 

Hearing facilities: If you require accommodations due to disability, please contact Meredith 

Mendelson at 207-624-6553.  

CONTACT PERSON FOR SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT (if different): Same  

FINANCIAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES (if any): None 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: § 6171 

SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different): Same 

AGENCY WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dmr/rulemaking/  

E-MAIL FOR OVERALL AGENCY RULE-MAKING LIAISON: 

dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov   

 

 
AGENCY: 13-188-Department of Marine Resources  

CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 41, Menhaden 

TYPE OF RULE: Routine Technical  

http://www.maine.gov/dmr/rulemaking/
mailto:dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov
mailto:dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov
http://www.maine.gov/dmr/rulemaking/
mailto:dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov
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PROPOSAL TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-P019 

BRIEF SUMMARY: This proposed rulemaking adjusts the start date of the commercial 
fishery to the first Monday of June. Incidental harvest of menhaden by pound net operators 
is amended to begin May 1st, annually. Effort restrictions for the Episodic Event Set-Aside 
(EESA) program is expanded to allow for flexible harvest plans dependent on the number 
of states participating in the EESA. Lastly, the designated partnership agreement has been 
removed.  
PUBLIC HEARING (if any): March 11, 2025: 5:00 p.m. at DMR’s Augusta office (Marquardt 
Building, 32 Blossom Lane, rm 118) and remotely via Microsoft Teams. If the March 11th 
hearing is cancelled due to inclement weather an alternate hearing will be held on March 12th 
at 5:00 pm in Room 118 of the same location, and remotely via Microsoft Teams. Remote access 
information is posted to DMR’s website under “Meetings.”  
COMMENT DEADLINE: March 22, 2025 

CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING: 

NAME: Deirdre Gilbert 

MAILING ADDRESS: 21 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0021 

E-MAIL: dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov  

TELEPHONE: 207-624-6553 

FAX: 207-624-6024 

TTY: 207-624-6500 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing) 

Hearing facilities: If you require accommodations due to disability, please contact Meredith 

Mendelson at 207-624-6553.  

CONTACT PERSON FOR SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT (if different): Same  

FINANCIAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES (if any): None 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: § 6171, § 6502-C 

SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different): Same 

AGENCY WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dmr/rulemaking/  

E-MAIL FOR OVERALL AGENCY RULE-MAKING LIAISON: 

dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov  

 
 

AGENCY: 13-188 Department of Marine Resources  
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 55, Gear Restrictions 
TYPE OF RULE: Routine Technical 
PROPOSAL TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-P020 
BRIEF SUMMARY:  This proposed rulemaking provides clarification of the pound net 
definition specifying that harvest from pound nets is by hand operated gears only, as also 
described in Chapter 41.  
PUBLIC HEARING (if any):  None.  
COMMENT DEADLINE:  March 21, 2025 

mailto:dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov
http://www.maine.gov/dmr/rulemaking/
mailto:dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov
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CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING: 
NAME: Deirdre Gilbert 
MAILING ADDRESS: 21 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0021 
E-MAIL: dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov  
TELEPHONE: 207-624-6553 
FAX: 207-624-6024 
TTY: 207-624-6500 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing) 
Hearing facilities: If you require accommodations due to disability, please contact Meredith 
Mendelson at 207-624-6553.  
CONTACT PERSON FOR SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT (if different): Same  
FINANCIAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES (if any): None 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 12 MRS 6171 
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different): Same 
AGENCY WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dmr/rulemaking/  
E-MAIL FOR OVERALL AGENCY RULE-MAKING LIAISON: 
dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov  

 
 
AGENCY: 13-188 Department of Marine Resources  
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 94, Sanitary Control of Molluscan Shellfish 
TYPE OF RULE: Routine Technical  
PROPOSAL TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-P021 
BRIEF SUMMARY: This proposal would amend Chapter 94 to reference the most current 
version of the National Shellfish Sanitation Program Model Ordinance. 
PUBLIC HEARING (if any):  None.  
COMMENT DEADLINE:  March 21, 2025 
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING: 
NAME: Deirdre Gilbert 
MAILING ADDRESS: 21 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0021 
E-MAIL: dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov  
TELEPHONE: 207-624-6553 
FAX: 207-624-6024 
TTY: 207-624-6500 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing) 
Hearing facilities: If you require accommodations due to disability, please contact Meredith 
Mendelson at 207-624-6553.  
CONTACT PERSON FOR SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT (if different): Same  
FINANCIAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES (if any): None 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 12 MRS 6171-A 
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different): Same 
AGENCY WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dmr/rulemaking/  
E-MAIL FOR OVERALL AGENCY RULE-MAKING LIAISON: 
dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov   
 

mailto:dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov
http://www.maine.gov/dmr/rulemaking/
mailto:dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov
mailto:dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov
http://www.maine.gov/dmr/rulemaking/
mailto:dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov
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ADOPTIONS 

 
AGENCY: 29-250 Secretary of State, Bureau of Motor Vehicles 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 157, The Administration of Over Dimension and 
Overweight Permits 
ADOPTION TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-033  
 
CONCISE SUMMARY: 
 
This rule establishes requirements and standards for the permitting of non-divisible, over-
dimensional and overweight vehicles and loads (collectively overlimit loads) which are loads 
exceeding the size and weight limits established in Title 29-A. The Secretary of State is authorized 
to issue overlimit permits pursuant to Title 29-A M.R.S.A §2382. This rule also establishes 
requirements and standards for Pilot and Police Escort vehicles. 
 
The updated rule proposes changes to non-divisible load permits related to ocean going 
containers, special hauls, mobile and modular homes, it establishes a permit for unladen over-
with lowbed equipment trailers in Aroostook County, repeals instant permits, allows for 
certain loads to be moved on Saturday mornings, allows certain modular or mobile homes to 
be moved during Saturday morning hours on certain roadways and makes non-substantive 
changes to the structure of the rule. The changes intend to support commerce when traffic is 
lightest while preserving safety during periods of heavier traffic. 
 
Additionally, a pilot project was established in Aroostook County for certain movements of 
unlanded trailers during specific dates and times of the year. These amendments formalize the 
pilot into rule.  
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Sunday, February 16, 2025 
 

AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Nelson Peters 
AGENCY NAME: Secretary of State, Bureau of Motor Vehicles 
ADDRESS: BMV Vehicle Services, 29 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0029 
TELEPHONE: 207-624-9063 

 
 
AGENCY: 01-670 Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 54, Bear Baiting on Public Lands 
ADOPTION TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-032 
 
CONCISE SUMMARY: 
 
The amended rule revises and updates the permit application submission period and permit 
issuance date; provides a date for notification of successful applicants; revises the insurance 
requirements for commercial bear bait sites; extends the renewal period for commercial sites 
from two to five years; removes specified permit fees while allowing the Bureau to adjust fees 
every three years; increases the radius of bait sites from 100 feet to 150 yards; clarifies conditions 
for revocation of permits; and provides direction for reconsideration and appeal of revocations.  
The amended rule also addresses eligibility for refunds of permit fees; enumerates additional 
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requirements for commercial bear bait sites; provides additional direction for the allocation of 
bait sites; and enumerates several standards that apply to personal and commercial bait sites. 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Wednesday, February 12, 2025 
 
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON:   Shannon Ayotte 
AGENCY NAME:      Dept. of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry 
ADDRESS:       22 SHS, Augusta, ME 04333 
TELEPHONE:      207-287-5976 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


